NJ Peace Action


New Jersey Peace Action (NJPA) has created and released voter guides for two of this year's Congressional primary races.  We have focused on the races in District 9 and District 10.  The guides were created with the responses to candidate questionnaires that went out about 3 weeks before the primary.

The District 9 race was followed closely because of Congressional Redistricting.  The redistricting took most of Rep. Rothman's district and put it into Rep. Pascrell's district.  Rep. Rothman's hometown of Fair Lawn was put into Rep. Scott Garrett's district.  This caused Rep. Steve Rothman and Rep. Bill Pascrell to run against each other for the right to run in November.  The other challengers in this race were Republicans Dr. Hector Castillo, Rabbi Shmuley Boteach and Dr. Blase Billack.

The District 10 race was for the vacated seat of the late Rep. Donald Payne.  His death earlier this  this year created some confusion.  The winner of the June 5th primary will serve until January 2013, i.e. the rest of Rep. Payne's term.  It is in the November election that voters will choose who will serve a 2 year term beginning in January 2013.  The candidates in the June 5th primary race are Democrats Councilman Donald Payne Jr., Senator Nia Gill, Ronald Rice, Dennis Flynn, Cathy Wright and Mayor Wayne Smith of Irvington.  Brian Kelemen will run unopposed for the Republican nomination.

Distribution of these Voter Guides marks the beginning of the Peace Voter 2012 campaign.  NJPA is holding a grassroots activist skills building day on Saturday, June 9, 2012 at St. Peter Claver Church in Montclair, NJ.  This event will feature workshops based on the topics that were asked about in the questionnaire, including one which reports on the candidates' positions on key peace and justice issues.

For more information please contact Director Madelyn Hoffman or Peace Voter Coordinator Jessica Camacho by calling NJPA at (973) 259-1126 or e-mail peacevoter2012@yahoo.com.

Please click on the attached files below to download.

2012 Voter Guide District 9.pdf163.12 KB
2012 Voter Guide District 10.pdf164.4 KB
Bill Pascrell Responses.pdf79.28 KB
Dennis Flynn Responses.pdf78.79 KB
Ron Rice Responses.pdf10.46 KB
Steve Rothman Votes updated.pdf77.43 KB